NI Music Prize 2018

Album Longlist


Here is a list of what we hope is every eligible Northern Irish album released between 8th August 2017 – 7th August 2018. The criteria for eligible albums is at the bottom of the page.

If you see that an eligible album is missing please let us know by emailing brianconey@gmail.com by Thursday 30th August 2018

The album will be added to the list and sent to the academy of voters. The Prize is coordinated by the Oh Yeah Music Centre, but staff and board are not involved in the voting process.

A shortlist of 12 albums will be selected by the academey and announced by Oh Yeah Music Centre in September. The winner will be announced at the NI Music Prize event at the Ulster Hall on November 15th 2018.

Every title is linked to the album itself…

List of albums in alphabetical order:

And So I Watch You From Afar – The Endless Shimmering
Ash – Islands

Bicep – Bicep
Mandy Bingham – Bury Me Deep
The Bonnevilles – Dirty Photographs
Michael Black - Memoirs
Brand New Friend – Seatbelts for Aeroplanes
Brigid O’Neill – Touchstone
Buí – Eugene

The Cyclist – Beat At The Heart Of The City
Connla - The Next Chapter

John Deery and the Heads – Nothing Permanent Lasts
The Defects – Feed The Good Dog
Cara Dillon – Wanderer
Marcus Duke - Accelerated Freefall
Gareth Dunlop – No. 79 

Elder Druid – Carmina Satane
Electric Octopus – Line Standing
Elma Orkestra – Flutter: Part One

Girls Names – Stains on Silence
Ben Glover – Shorebound
Adam Grant – My World

The Hardchargers – Scarecrow
Linley Hamilton – Making Other Arrangements
The Hootin Annies – In Transit
Brian Hassan - Tales From Home
Niall Hanna - Autumn Winds

Kippysmuse – My #9

Ciaran Lavery – Sweet Decay
Lock Horns – Molon Labe
John Lindsay - Two
Lonesome George – Flat as the Earth
Lost Avenue – Fears
The Lost Brothers – Halfway Towards a Healing

The Mad Dalton – Open Season
Matt McGinn – The End of the Common Man
MaverickCold Star Dancer
Allison McGrath - At Long Last
Catherine McGrath – Talk of This Town
Edelle McMahon – Adventures in Narcissism
The Pat McManus Band – Tattooed In Blue
Peter McVeigh – The Wolf & Peter
Malojian – Let Your Weirdness Carry You Home
Monkey Bath – It’s Been Emotional
Van Morrison – Versatile
Van Morrison – Roll With The Punches

Rory Nellis – There Are Enough Songs In The World

Ciara O’Neill – Arrow
Dominic O’Neill – Out of the Woods

Pandora Ills – Battles The Pilluminati
Hannah Peel – Mary Casio: Journey to Cassiopeia

Alan Patterson - Dancing With Strangers

The Rising - Moving On
REWS – Pyro
Robocobra Quartet – Plays Hard To Get

Scimitar – Where The Darkness Dwells
Slow Place Like Home - When I see you...ice cream!
Snow Patrol – Wildness
So Much For The Sun – So Much For The Sun
Duke Special – Hallow
Stormzone – Lucifer’s Factory
Strength N.I.A. – Northern Ireland Yes

The Tragedy of Dr Hannigan – Fawkes Ache
Trucker Diablo – Fighting For Everything
Anthony Toner – The Kiss of Light

Ryan Vail – Distorted Shadows
VerseChorusVerse – Outro
Villiers and the Villains – Music Confounds The Machines

Warriors Of The Dystotheque – Madness in the Method
The Wood Burning Savages – Stability
Willow Springs - Urban Ghosts




To qualify for the Northern Ireland Music Prize, albums must have been released between August 8th 2017 to August 7th, 2018.

Albums must consist of previously unreleased material. Re-issues, multi-artist compilations, ‘Best Of’ collections and live albums (largely featuring previously released material) are ineligible. Albums should be original compositions or arrangements, lyrically and/or musically, contain 6 or more tracks and/or be over 30 minutes in length. All genres of music are eligible for the NI Music Prize.

An album must have been made available for purchase in Northern Ireland by the general public for the first time during the qualifying period through any of the following outlets: any high street music retailer; digital retailer, record label or artist website (including Bandcamp, social media etc.) Free downloads (with the artist’s express consent) will also be eligible.

For the purposes of this award, albums will be deemed to have been recorded by a “Northern Irish Artist” when: the artist was born in Northern Ireland; at least 50% of the band’s core members were born in NI (session musicians will not be considered); an artist or band, irrespective of nationality, has made their creative base in NI for the past 2 years.